Repurposed 18th century frock coat

My Captain needs a new frock coat. So I went hunting for fabric. I found 2 curtain panels about 8 feet long) of this gold brocade fabric. Perfect.

fabric

Gold Brocade Curtain Fabric

Inspiration:
A very period frockcoat and a modernized Kristi Smart coat. I wanted to meld the two.

s468842997405551813_p46_i2_w320

Kristi Smart Jacket

Coats 2

Brocade frock coat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wanted it to be full in the back and  have it flounce because the fabric drapes so well.   I like the first coat where it  tapers back and is pleated. The second coat is a  Kristi Smart coat. I love the front  design with the hardware front clasp.  I have two of her coats and they are really flattering.   I encorporated both coats  into my design. The top is in the Kristi style and the bottom is in the first style but with a more exaggerated pleated back. These pictures don’t do it justice. It doesn’t really fit the dress form.  I’ll try it on my model and get better pictures.  My Captain will be wearing it this weekend!!

coat front

front detail

coat back

back pleats

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found the trim and the buttons clearance bin!The trim was $2.97 a yard! It worked perfectly! The buttons were a set of 3 for $.97! They were a dark rust color and a little too dark for the coat so I used Antique Gold Rub and Buff to make them more gold. I did the same thing to the closure hooks in front

Photo 498

The Trim & Buttons

My favorite part is the inside pockets. They are on both sides! They are big enough to hold glasses, cellphones, wallets & keys.

pocket

Inside Side Pockets!

I am very pleased with the way it turned out. More pictures to come.

 

 

About wickedtimetraveler

I am a costumer. I have an AS degree in Costume for Theatrical Production from Cañada College. I love historical re-encatment. I do pirates, renaissance, victorian, scottish highlander, steampunk and fantasy costumes. I also like to go green as much as I can. I like to repurpose fabric and bring the cost down as well as saving the fabric from the landfills. I comb the thrift stores for fabric. Using sheets, cutains and recycled fabric from other garments, I create one of a kind costumes. I have started this blog to document how my many costumes were made as well as share with others and inspire them to create their costumes. "All the world is a stage..." I hope you enjoy.

Leave a comment